top of page
  • Writer's pictureshalineelaval

American Library of Paris, hosting an art workshop


In the heart of Paris, very close to the Eiffel Tower, is the American Library of Paris. It is apparently, the largest English-language lending library in the European mainland. Wow! I always heard about it but never got to visit it until I was granted the opportunity to host a workshop there this month, September 2022.


On the right side of the row of buildings, right at the end, nudging shoulders with the Eiffel Tower is the American Library. It was established in 1920 and I was amazed to see how spacious it is inside. The modern glass door outside belies how big it is inside.

I had a chance to step inside it a few days before my workshop and the Childrens and Teens Workshop Leader kindly showed me around the place. It looked very chic. Rows and rows of American books. Of course, every person working here are Americans. Apparently, the people engaged in the library are mostly volunteers as the library is a non-profit private organisation. I think this is an excellent idea for young people to spend their time here during their vacations. To dip yourself into the American culture through its people and its books, how lovely!


I had been informed to prepare the workshop around the theme of Autumn and Halloween. I had to think hard on what papercutting-related craft activity the kids would most be interested in. I thought bookmarks would be great! Here are three bookmarks I prepared. The Autumn leaves was the one most people chose to cut. If you are interested to give the bookmarks a try, click here.



Making a heart spiderweb was also a terrific idea! If you like this, have a look here. The cut spiderweb has to be finally glued on to a A4 sized paper that is folded in half. So this would make a greeting card or you can leave it just the way it is!


My Halloween kitty is my favourite. I presented it at the workshop but soon realised the level would be too high for them this time. So I just gifted it to one of them who seemed very happy to receive it! If you think you can give this an attempt, click here.

For first-timers I was so impressed with the children! They were very concentrated and serious about their cutting. They also asked me a lot of questions about papercutting that I liked a lot. The activity room that we were in was huge with a high ceiling and big windows.


Since the workshop took place late evening, snacks had been thoughtfully provided too. Warm falafels, chips, popcorn, cheese, nuts, cookies and a selection of drinks.


For my first workshop, this was the ideal environment, and I learnt many things during this time: the specific grammage of the paper is necessary to check, the position of holding the scalpel was what I had to correct from time to time, the explanation of how to cut (curves and circles), which to cut first and finally the gluing of the cuts to stick on to the backing paper.

I am so thankful to the Library to have given me the chance! I look forward to returning there in a while again! I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into my first workshop. See you in my next post!







29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page